PDA

View Full Version : Power Cord Length


reubenray
02-05-2012, 03:55 AM
When we made the deal (will pick up in 2 weeks) for the Cougar I notice the power cord was in a recessed part at the rear of it. How long is this cord and how hard is it to push back into the hole.

We are doing our test night at a State Park about 10 miles away. Will I need to bring an additional extension cord for this night? I have several 12 or 14 gauge 25' cords that I could bring. Will these work and if so will I need a connection adapter of some type. I did not pay attention to what type of connection it had.

Jim & Kay
02-05-2012, 06:03 AM
Not sure of power cord length, have had approximately 15' of cord out and there was still cord left. As a general rule, campers have 25' power cords. If more were needed, I would advise using 10 gage cable, since you are pulling 30 amps. The sell an extra 25' 30 amp 10 gage cord you can use, if needed, with the male and female ends that will work with your existing cord.

Festus2
02-05-2012, 09:16 AM
If your test trip is to a State Park, I would think that the power post should be close enough to the site so that an extension wouldn't be necessary. However, most folks carry an extension cord or two with them just in case. You will need an adapter to connect your 30A power cord to the extension cord. I would recommend that you get the heaviest wire gauge possible for the extension cord.
A number of members have also changed over to an external plug-in on the RV rather than pulling and pushing the power cord out and in of the "mouse hole". This means that your power cord is now separated from the TT and needs to be stored elsewhere and plugged in with each use.
For some reason, I found that before I made this conversion, that the power cord mysteriously tied itself in a knot while sitting all by itself in the storage compartment and I could not pull it out all the way. I firmly believe that there was a power cord gremlin who took great delight in tieing the knot and watched me rant and rave while I tried in vain to pull the cord out of its compartment.

jje1960
02-05-2012, 09:41 AM
Our SRX is the first 50amp unit we have ever owned. Our other TT's had the 30amp cord, which was pulled out of a hole, kept in compartment box. The 50amp cord now, we have to keep in the front 5Ver compartment, man is that thing heavy! For short overnight only stops, I don't even bother, use the cord that we have run under the unit for genset use in the truck bed, longer stops I drag the 50amp cord out.

Bob Landry
02-05-2012, 11:02 AM
Do not read the "suggestions" and "recommendations" for the heaviest gauge possible, etc. power cord as such. If you are able to plug into a 30A plug at a CG, the absolute minimum size is 10ga. That is the minimum size that will handle 30A regardless of cord length, and if you are plugged into 30A service, you could easily draw that much without knowing it. A smaller size will overheat, melt the cord cover and possibly cause a fire.
I carry two shore power cords. One is a Marinco 25' and the other is the black cord that came with the trailer. When I changed the inlet on my trailer, I put a connector on the cord and kept it as a spare. Most pedestals will be within 25' of your inlet, but I have been to a coupls of parks where that wasn't long enough. If the inlet is on the side of your trailer, 25' will probably be fine. If it's on the rear as it is on my Outback, you may have an occasional need for a longer cord.

jje1960
02-05-2012, 11:20 AM
Do not read the "suggestions" and "recommendations" for the heaviest gauge possible, etc. power cord as such. If you are able to plug into a 30A plug at a CG, the absolute minimum size is 10ga. That is the minimum size that will handle 30A regardless of cord length, and if you are plugged into 30A service, you could easily draw that much without knowing it. A smaller size will overheat, melt the cord cover and possibly cause a fire.
I carry two shore power cords. One is a Marinco 25' and the other is the black cord that came with the trailer. When I changed the inlet on my trailer, I put a connector on the cord and kept it as a spare. Most pedestals will be within 25' of your inlet, but I have been to a coupls of parks where that wasn't long enough. If the inlet is on the side of your trailer, 25' will probably be fine. If it's on the rear as it is on my Outback, you may have an occasional need for a longer cord.
Yea, agree on the 10ga. When I ran the cord on our trailer for the genset, used a 3/10 cord from Home Depot, cost an arm and a leg, like $80.00, but worth every penny.

Hunter757
02-05-2012, 11:40 AM
I would offer this: When you pick up your new trailer pull the cord out and see how long it is, this way when you pull into the campground spot you can eyeball the power pole and your camper and pull close enough prior to unhitching.

We have a 50 amp 30ft cord and it is Heavy but I do carry extra 30 amp cords that we have kept from our prior trailers with a reducer just in case or a fellow camper needs one.

Your dealer might even carry a 25ft cord he can give you a deal on with any reducers you might need.

Good luck and Happy Camping :bdance:

Festus2
02-05-2012, 11:41 AM
[QUOTE=Bob Landry;27735]Do not read the "suggestions" and "recommendations" for the heaviest gauge possible, etc. power cord as such. [QUOTE]

Bob:
My "recommendation" to the poster that he get the heaviest gauge possible was not implying that he go out and get a 14 gauge household, general-use extension cord. Not sure what you mean by "do not read the suggestions and recommendations". Perhaps my recommendation was, as written, bad advice and should have been more specific to include the gauge so as not be misleading. I do agree that 10 gauge is what he should be looking at.

Bob Landry
02-05-2012, 02:39 PM
One thing to keep in mind and I've been intending to follow up on is....You can't carry two standard shore power cables with the intention of joining them together should you need more length. The male end on one will not mate with the female end of the other. I'm wondering if anyone makes an adapter that will let you connect the two and use it as an extension. I think I'll start looking for that now and see what I can find.

cumminsdad08
02-05-2012, 02:57 PM
my cord will just so not reach the front of the trailer, exiting dead center on the rear. trailer about 30 foot, so yeah i guess 25 would be an accurate guess. i actually store my cable line in the same compartment, zip tied to the power cord. this way i could pull my cable the same time i pulled my power. i never had a problem pushing it back in. but i am kinda anal about keeping my cords very straight. i usually pull it out behind the trailer and then make sure i feed it in with out twisting it. i prolly wrap a 500-600 feet of cords and air lines a day for work. never have a problem. just all in how you do it.

i do count on the mice to keep the gremlins away:rofl:

Festus2
02-05-2012, 02:59 PM
Bob:
I went out and bought (by the foot) 25' of 10/3 shore-type cord. On one end, I attached a Marinco 30A Male Plug (305CRP) and a Marinco 30A Female Plug (305CRC) to the other. If I need a longer run, I connect the female end of this extension cord to the male end of the shore cord and then plug in the male end into the 30A pedestal. Not exactly cheap but, as you know, Marinco parts are quite expensive.

Bob Landry
02-05-2012, 04:25 PM
After looking around a while, I figured that would probably be the solution. I was just hoping for an adapter that would allow two standard power cords to be joined together. Maybe another approach would be to do what you did only use a one foot or so length of cord. That would remove the carrying around a 25' cord that may or may not ever bee used. I don't think I'm willing to give up a good spare SP cord to make an extension cord from it.

hankaye
02-05-2012, 04:46 PM
Howdy All;

Thought I'd just mention this;

http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-power-cords/30-amp-extension-cords.htm

hankaye

Festus2
02-05-2012, 04:57 PM
hankaye:
....shoulda, coulda, woulda. Oh well, I guess I could call mine "custom made". Makes me feel better.

hankaye
02-06-2012, 07:07 AM
Festus2, Howdy;

I'm aged enough to recall the Yellow Pages adverts that proclaimed;

"Let your fingers do the walking" ;)

hankaye

michol02
02-07-2012, 02:22 PM
Walmart has a 30 foot 30 amp rv cord for $49.97.

f6bits
02-07-2012, 05:13 PM
After reading this thread, all I see are extension power cords. Camping World and my local RV shop. Funny how that works. Though *none* of them are custom made or Marinco.

Tikitim
02-09-2012, 10:11 PM
Get a 30 amp RV extention cord, problem solved.

therink
02-10-2012, 03:13 PM
Most walmarts sell a 25' rv 30amp extension cord in the rv section. Around $25. I use it often.

captbru
02-13-2012, 05:36 PM
I wouls suggest that you carry an extra power cord and water hose. We have pulled into a few campgrounds where the power post is half way down the site or near the front. If you have a 30amp or 50amp get that size cord, amazon.com has them alot cheaper. I have an extra 30ft cord they just fit togeather, you don't need an adapter if your using the same size.

golfpro
02-19-2012, 09:36 PM
may I make a suggestion? You haven't picked up your new TT yet so there is still time to do this. Go to the dealer and and ask for a (at Least) 10% discount for the next ten years of buying RV accessories at his store. they want you to buy from them, get what you can. Some owners are very cheap minded and they are the ones out of business or they are the ones who don't sell a lot of units per year. You did them a favor by buying from them, they can pay you back by giving you a discount. And some parts run in the hundreds of dollars.

chuckneste
10-14-2013, 06:15 PM
Hello Y'all,

I bought a 2005 Springdale 298 BH and I have only 6 ft of shoreline cord. I can not pull it out anymore. This will be retired to a rv lot and need about 15 ft of cord. Can someone point me in the right direction as I dont know how this plugs into the converter. I will have to peek tomorrow but the cord is definitely short and not hung. This is my 2nd trailer and I dont consider myself a noob. Any thoughts?

Chuck
Atlanta, GA

Festus2
10-14-2013, 06:21 PM
Chuck -
It's possible that the cord, if it is stored inside a compartment, pulled out and pushed in after use, has somehow managed to tie itself in a knot. The knot may be at the point where you can't pull it out any farther and you have ended up with a much shortened shoreline cord.

I've had this happen 2 or 3 times and had to remove a panel on the inside, untangle the knot and replace the panel. It became such a nuisance, I ended up cutting it and installing a Marinco conversion (30A) kit.

You must have more than 6 feet of cord --- somewhere.

chuckneste
10-14-2013, 06:28 PM
Hi Festus, I seen other posts that pointed me to your post. I will look tomorrow. I had the camper for about 3 weeks and I bought it at yes, an Louisiana Fema auction for 6500. The awning is a mess and was removed and will be going to a home in the North Georgia Mountains with a roof over. The rest is pretty decent with new mattresses and very clean. I will post back with my findings and may post pics as well.

ThanksChuck

JRTJH
10-14-2013, 06:34 PM
The Springdale power cord enters the RV through a hole and the cord is usually stuffed into a cabinet within the RV through that hole. The cord is attached to the RV wiring inside that cabinet. There is a metal junction box mounted on the floor of the cabinet and the 10 gage (orange sheath) Romex is tied to the power cord in the junction box. The 10 gage Romex goes from that junction box to the AC power distribution panel main breaker.

If you look carefully, you should find an access panel on the inside of the RV enclosing that cabinet. On our 242, the input cable was secured to the rear trailer wall with a strain type metal banding clip.

As Festus 2 said, it's common for the cord to get tangled up within itself and not pull through the hole. Going inside to locate the access will allow you to either untangle it, or if necessary, you can go to WalMart and buy a 30 amp extension cord in the RV section. Cut off the female end and remove/replace the existing "short cable" with one that's longer. My recommendation would be to leave as much length as possible. Just because you only need 15' now doesn't mean you won't wish for 25' when conditions change.....

chuckneste
10-14-2013, 06:38 PM
Thanks all,

Once I get this fixed, it will be permanent as I dont plan on moving the camper again. Can this cord be shortened so I will draw less amps . Will a 15 ft cord be more efficient than a 25 ft cord ?

Thanks again,

diugo
10-14-2013, 06:48 PM
Will a 15 ft cord be more efficient than a 25 ft cord?


The maximum power loss in 20ft (10ft times 2 conductors) of #10AWG at 30A is a miniscule one half of one percent.

So I too vote to keep the cord its full 25ft length.

chuckneste
10-15-2013, 06:39 PM
Hello All,

I will get into the trailer tomorrow and remove the gremlin holding my line hostage at 6 ft.

Thanks for the feedback. I will leave the length as is.

chuckneste
10-16-2013, 04:53 AM
Hello Again,.


We can close out this thread. I opened up the bottom bunk to show that a gremlin has stole 17 ft of my cable. There was a strain relief before the junction box with no extra cable. I will just buy a 25 ft cord and reinstall. I appreciate the help and I wish i would of found a knot. That would of been too easy. I took picture bit I see no sense of uploading as this was too obvious.

Thanks again
Chuck

Bean
10-16-2013, 05:30 AM
There are two separate issues with extension cords.

Safety and voltage drop.

For 30A you need at least 10ga for safety (no matter then length).

Then for a given length you will have a given voltage drop.

If the voltage drops 1volt with a 25' cord, then it will drop 4volts with a 100' cord (of the same gauge).

The lower the gauge the bigger the wires and the less the voltage drop will be for a given length.

So for a 25' 30A cord 10ga is fine, but if you want to go 100' with 10ga you will still be safe, but the voltage drop will be greater.

Bean

chuckneste
10-16-2013, 12:55 PM
Hey Bean,

I have a 10 ga shore cord ( OEM) that was cut down. A new 25 ft cord will not be an extension cord and will be corrected. This is what happenes when you buy used stuff. it has to be expected. it makes we wonder what else was " modified"

On another topic, I have not looked yet but my 95 starcraft had a fuse panel/ breakers. I did not see one in the area of the bunk/ power input area. I am assuming that the breaker on the outside power distribution box is it.

Chuck

Bob Landry
10-16-2013, 01:16 PM
While AC cord does have a small percentage of voltage drop, AC cords are sized by the load they are going to carry. A 10 ga cord is good for 30A and for a distance of around 50' before you notice any appreciable voltage drop. Once you get to the 50' mark, a change to the next size larger cord is prudent to prevent overheating of the wire. I've never seen a campground with the power pedestal located such that a 50' cord wouldn't be more than enough, not to say that they don't exist.
Sizing wire for DC applications takes into account percentage of voltage drop because calculating wire size for a DC old figures in the length of the wire run, both on the hot and ground wires, and then the wire is sized for a 3% or a 10% voltage drop over the combined length, something that seldom if ever comes into play with AC power in campgrounds.

pjhansman
10-16-2013, 01:49 PM
I've never seen a campground with the power pedestal located such that a 50' cord wouldn't be more than enough, not to say that they don't exist.

Many of the provincial parks in Northern Ontario seem to make it a contest how far away the pedestal can be. Using 75 feet of cable is not unusual. Fortunately I have 50 feet of 50 amp (6/3) cable, so only 25 feet of the 30 amp cable is required and voltage drop isn't too bad.

Bob Landry
10-16-2013, 01:51 PM
I don't speak for Canada. I'm basing my comments on what I have actually experienced at the National, State, and COE parks here..

Little Guy
10-16-2013, 01:53 PM
Here is a little trick if your power cord is hanging up inside the storage box behind the mouse hole.
First pull the cord all the way out...you may have to open up the storage area to untangle it. Then spray the cord with a silicone spray and let dry.
This will lube up the cord and make it much easier to pull out. Do this once a year and you should be good to go. No more knots and tangles. Works great.

JRTJH
10-16-2013, 02:24 PM
chuckneste,

A 10 gage extension cord from Lowe's isn't necessarily the same as what you'll need to replace the OEM cable. If you don't have one, you can go to WalMart and in the RV section you can buy a 25' 30 amp RV extension cable. That cable has the correct ends on it to connect to the power pole and to your current cable end. You can, temporarily, just plug into the existing cable and use the extension cable to connect to your power pole 10' away. Or you can use a hack saw and cut off the "trailer end" of the new cable and hard wire it in place of the existing short cable. Don't forget to reinstall the strain clamp.

You can also go to an RV supply house/dealer to buy the same cable, but usually it will cost you $20-30 more there. Check prices if you have a CW nearby, sometimes they have them on sale for $34.99.

Hope this helps some :)

Bob Landry
10-16-2013, 02:44 PM
Along with needing 10 ga cable for 30A, pay attention to what type of wire it's constructed of.There's AWG and SAE grade wire. SAE is 12-18 % smaller than the same gauge in AWG and will not conduct as well even though it is intact 10 gauge. It's not as critical used in short runs but with the length you are going to end up with using an extension cord, it could make a difference in voltage drop.

Also read the label on any kind of spray you use for lubrication. Some compounds may break down the rubber coating on the cord, so make sure it's suitable for use on rubber materials.

chuckneste
10-16-2013, 03:51 PM
Guys, I dont know why y'all are assuming I am putting an extension cord in place of a shoreline cable. I am buying a regular RV cable/ OEM and will install it. I am fixing the last owners " modification".

I will remove the existing cable and will buy something like this

Chuck

http://www.ebay.com/itm/25-foot-30-amp-RV-Power-Extension-Cord-Brand-New-/370824823987?pt=Motors_RV_Trailer_Camper_Parts_Acc essories&vxp=mtr&hash=item5656e1c4b3

JRTJH
10-16-2013, 03:58 PM
Chuck,

Thats exactly what I was talking about in my previous post. It is a 30 amp RV extension cable. If you buy it, cut off the female end and wire it to your junction box where the existing "too short" cable is currently wired. WalMart sells the same cable in the RV department if you don't want to wait the week or so for EBay to ship to you.

As for the use of the word "extension" I never thought you were going to use it as such, but did say you could do that temporarily until you get around to using the hack saw.

chuckneste
10-16-2013, 04:08 PM
Hello all,

Yes, I will buy a cord and cut off the end and wire. I am not taking any shortcuts, being cheap or rigging/ re engineering this. Safety comes first. The link I pasted does state its an extension cord. Thanks again as I wont be replying back as this issue has been beat down. Let me do some research on any internal breakers inside the camper.

Chuck

25 foot 30 amp RV Power Extension Cord - Brand New!!

JRTJH
10-16-2013, 05:48 PM
WIth the obvious disdain from chuckneste, this thread is closed.