Keystone RV Forums
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Trailers > Modifications and Upgrades

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-13-2012, 10:23 AM
azlee56 azlee56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hankpage View Post
The stereo is 12v dc and does not need an inverter. It works with or without shore power. Half the problem solved.
I wish the stereo was 12V! It is with dvd and all that kind of unit and it is AC powered only. I couldn't figure out why they would do that, but maybe they figure if you get a montana you will be in parks. If someone knows I am wrong on this then please educate me. I want music when we dry camp.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-13-2012, 10:51 AM
hankpage's Avatar
hankpage hankpage is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azlee56 View Post
I wish the stereo was 12V! It is with dvd and all that kind of unit and it is AC powered only. I couldn't figure out why they would do that, but maybe they figure if you get a montana you will be in parks. If someone knows I am wrong on this then please educate me. I want music when we dry camp.
Mine has dvd also and is 12v. I have never seen an RV radio in 110 v ac.

What make is it? Jensen? Is there a clock display when not connected to shore power? Does it look like this.
__________________
Hank & Lynn
2007 Cougar 290RKS, E-Z Flex, 16" XPS RIBs
2004.5 Dodge 2500 QC, LB, 5.9HO, WestTach gauges, Ride-Rite
'07 Cougar Mods

Last edited by hankpage; 06-13-2012 at 10:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-13-2012, 11:02 AM
azlee56 azlee56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 606
Default

it is a quest QR4000. no clock that I can remember off hand. dvd/radio/usb surround sound. During the walk thru the guy said it was all AC, but that doesn't mean anything. He didn't know there was galley valve either. He told me there wasn't. I informed there was and when the BF went back there the service manager went and got him to show him where it was.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-13-2012, 11:21 AM
hankpage's Avatar
hankpage hankpage is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,558
Default

Ok .. I stand corrected it looks like this and seems to be 110v.
__________________
Hank & Lynn
2007 Cougar 290RKS, E-Z Flex, 16" XPS RIBs
2004.5 Dodge 2500 QC, LB, 5.9HO, WestTach gauges, Ride-Rite
'07 Cougar Mods
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-13-2012, 12:38 PM
AlCorr's Avatar
AlCorr AlCorr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hankpage View Post
By as close as possible to 12v power supply B&D means the battery. You did not say what size inverter you have but the wire size feeding that circuit may not be large enough for the distance to the battery and the draw that you intend to put on it. I am no expert but what you have done sounds like a fire waiting to happen. JM2˘, Hank
Thanks for the advise and don't lose any sleep over me having a fire. I installed a inverter in my last trailer the same way with no problems in 9 years.
__________________
Al & Jean
Abby Normal (cocker spaniel)
2012 Bullet 248RKS
2004.5 Dodge 5.9L Cummins
Honda EU2000i
New Bedford, MA
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f2...R/IMG_1198.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-13-2012, 12:46 PM
AlCorr's Avatar
AlCorr AlCorr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAABDOCTOR View Post
Have to agree with hank pulling a 15amp fuze out and putting in athirty amp sorry that's crazy :eek if there was a 15 amp fuse in there it is because the wireing and the electronics are only designrd for 15 amps not thirty. i would rethink your installation carefuly or have a fire extinguisher ready.
What makes you think the converter can't handle a 30amp fuse. It is full of 15 amp fuses because they are all for lights and things that only need a 15 amp. I've had 40's in my last trailer and poped them without any fires crazy.
__________________
Al & Jean
Abby Normal (cocker spaniel)
2012 Bullet 248RKS
2004.5 Dodge 5.9L Cummins
Honda EU2000i
New Bedford, MA
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f2...R/IMG_1198.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-13-2012, 01:06 PM
hankpage's Avatar
hankpage hankpage is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlCorr View Post
What makes you think the converter can't handle a 30amp fuse. It is full of 15 amp fuses because they are all for lights and things that only need a 15 amp. I've had 40's in my last trailer and poped them without any fires crazy.
The circuit feeding each fuse is the correct wire size for that fuse rating. The wires feeding a 15 amp fuse are not rated for 30 amps and can melt (burn) before the 30amp fuse blows. Like you said it was hard to get the heavy wires from the inverter to attach ..... that means the circuit was not designed for that gauge wire. The 40amp circuits you talk about are fed with heavier wire. Do yourself a favor and please (For safety sake) contact B&D tech support and ask them about your install. I'm very concerned, Hank

Before this goes any further ... What size inverter do you have?????
__________________
Hank & Lynn
2007 Cougar 290RKS, E-Z Flex, 16" XPS RIBs
2004.5 Dodge 2500 QC, LB, 5.9HO, WestTach gauges, Ride-Rite
'07 Cougar Mods
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-13-2012, 01:31 PM
AlCorr's Avatar
AlCorr AlCorr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hankpage View Post
The circuit feeding each fuse is the correct wire size for that fuse rating. The wires feeding a 15 amp fuse are not rated for 30 amps and can melt (burn) before the 30amp fuse blows. Like you said it was hard to get the heavy wires from the inverter to attach ..... that means the circuit was not designed for that gauge wire. The 40amp circuits you talk about are fed with heavier wire. Do yourself a favor and please (For safety sake) contact B&D tech support and ask them about your install. I'm very concerned, Hank

Before this goes any further ... What size inverter do you have?????
You are correct, and I'm not going any further with this.
__________________
Al & Jean
Abby Normal (cocker spaniel)
2012 Bullet 248RKS
2004.5 Dodge 5.9L Cummins
Honda EU2000i
New Bedford, MA
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f2...R/IMG_1198.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-13-2012, 01:39 PM
AlCorr's Avatar
AlCorr AlCorr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 161
Default

I maybe crazy, but I'm very happy with this setup.
__________________
Al & Jean
Abby Normal (cocker spaniel)
2012 Bullet 248RKS
2004.5 Dodge 5.9L Cummins
Honda EU2000i
New Bedford, MA
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f2...R/IMG_1198.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-13-2012, 05:21 PM
hankpage's Avatar
hankpage hankpage is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,558
Default

FYI 04 Dodge has a 5.9 Cummins
__________________
Hank & Lynn
2007 Cougar 290RKS, E-Z Flex, 16" XPS RIBs
2004.5 Dodge 2500 QC, LB, 5.9HO, WestTach gauges, Ride-Rite
'07 Cougar Mods
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is owned and operated by Superior Network Solutions, Inc., a California corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company and is not affiliated with the Keystone RV Company or its related companies in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.