Keystone RV Forums
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > General Forums > Technical Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2012, 12:07 PM
Nomad2009 Nomad2009 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ID
Posts: 42
Default Taking Home Direct TV with you RV'ing

Do you guys bring your direct tv from home for RV'ing? Does anyone have any info on this and best bets on using Direct TV on the road?

TX
__________________

Lee
2012 Cougar 30RKS
2012 GMC Yukon Denali XL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2012, 12:26 PM
jje1960 jje1960 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 594
Default Direct tv

Yup, have used our DTV in the RV for years. Last year I bought a used dome on ebay and installed it myself, works great. We used to just take a box from the house and plug it in, they are fine with this. Now, we just have a dedicated box for the RV. Note, you will not get your network channels outside your spotbeam area though, unless you pay for an account that provides the big 4 anywhere, it's about $15.00/month extra. We still keep the portable tripod dish in the storage bay, however I'm about ready to find a new home for that and gain the bay storage, have not used the tripod at all this year.
__________________
2011 F350 DRW 4X4
"The Beast"
2011 Cougar 325 SRX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:03 PM
therink therink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,273
Default

I also use my home DTV account for the rv. I have a Slimline3 dish and a portable stand I made from pvc. Cost was about $25 for pvc, dish was free. I scored a free 500' spool of coax and box of connectors from my DTV tech for free. I run two separate 150' cables from my dish to the inlets on my fiver. I have a box in the kids room and one in the living room.
Last week while in the Adirondacks, I went as far as to set up the dish on the roof of the fiver. The trees were a bit too dense, but I got my signal. I use an app on my Android phone called DISH Pointer Pro. It literally shows you where the satellites are on the phone screen in relation to trees obstacles, etc.
I have only been to two CG's in ten years that I couldn't get signal.
I have been able to get my local channels up to 300 miles from home.
Steve
__________________
Steve Rinker
Rochester, NY
2013 Outback Sydney 340FBH (12,280 lbs loaded)
2012 Silverado 3500HD LTZ Crew, 6.0 Gasser, 4:10 gears, standard bed

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:51 PM
Nomad2009 Nomad2009 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ID
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks for info. So the dish on the house you just take that off and put on a tripod and where do you run the cables that are that long? If the unit has a satellite receptacle do you plug it there? I anticipate using 2 TV's but I have a DVR and a small receiver which can access recordings any issues there you think?
__________________

Lee
2012 Cougar 30RKS
2012 GMC Yukon Denali XL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:55 PM
DJ85's Avatar
DJ85 DJ85 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Athens
Posts: 220
Default

I have an extra reciever at home. What other equipment is required. An Antenna and enough cable to run from the antenna to the camper? If anybody has stuff they would like to sell feel free to pm me with the details. I am totally new with very limited knowledge about the whole set up, but I am willing to learn.
__________________

God is great, beer is good and people are crazy
Dave and Julie

2008 F-250 6.4L 4x4
2012 Cougar RES 327
2000 Jayco 264 Bunkhouse
1995 Starcraft pop-up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:57 PM
azlee56 azlee56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 603
Default

oh good! I am going to learn right along with you.
__________________
"just ride away into the black and white sunset"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:03 PM
therink therink is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,273
Default

I do not take the dish off of my home roof. I have a dedicated dish that stays in the rv all the time.
Just remember that the coax wire(s) attached to the dish must have a direct connection to the satellite receiver box with no splitters in between. You also have to get the knack for aiming the dish at the correct coordinates with no obstacles in the way. This is not always easy.
For about $1000 there are several different automatic dishes or domes you can purchase that simplify the process. These are good for those who have the $ and don't want to mess with the technical part of getting reception. I'm not one of those. I like my free dish and have no problem setting it up.
__________________
Steve Rinker
Rochester, NY
2013 Outback Sydney 340FBH (12,280 lbs loaded)
2012 Silverado 3500HD LTZ Crew, 6.0 Gasser, 4:10 gears, standard bed

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:28 PM
Ron's Avatar
Ron Ron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 765
Default

We also take DTV on the road and leave a receiver in the 5ver. We use a Vqube for the satellite signal as we move alot and for me to set up a dish, I don't think I have that much patience. Also with the Vqube, ther is 50' of coax so if there is a tree or building in the way, we just move it till we have a clear view of the southern sky. I use satellite finder on the internet to locate it at each campsite we go to so I know exactly where it is. Photo attached in use. Happy Campin.............Ron

Sunset Tollgate 010.jpg
__________________
Ron & Cynthia
99 Freightliner FL70 Western Hauler CC 300 HP Cat/Chipped/ Allison Auto
12 Montana 3800RE/Level-Up Auto Leveling/Slide Toppers/MorRyde Hitch/VuQube 2000
01 F350 7.3 PSD Crew Cab DRW 4X4 6 Speed/Chipped



Last edited by Ron; 08-02-2012 at 03:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2012, 03:55 PM
DJ85's Avatar
DJ85 DJ85 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Athens
Posts: 220
Default

Wel azlee56 beween the two of us I sure hope one of us understands what they are saying. We don't have or do internet acess. How do you go about finding a signal?
__________________

God is great, beer is good and people are crazy
Dave and Julie

2008 F-250 6.4L 4x4
2012 Cougar RES 327
2000 Jayco 264 Bunkhouse
1995 Starcraft pop-up
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2012, 04:35 PM
Ron's Avatar
Ron Ron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 765
Default

DJ85 to finding a signal with the Vqube is all automatic if you buy the right one. The Vqube 2000 is what we have and one touch of a button and wala, we now have a signal. If you want to go with a dish on a tripod there are other ways to find the satellite signal and I'm sure some else will chime in here and give you a better idea on how that works, kinda hard for me to explain it the right way and I'm sure someone else can do a better job at it............Ron
__________________
Ron & Cynthia
99 Freightliner FL70 Western Hauler CC 300 HP Cat/Chipped/ Allison Auto
12 Montana 3800RE/Level-Up Auto Leveling/Slide Toppers/MorRyde Hitch/VuQube 2000
01 F350 7.3 PSD Crew Cab DRW 4X4 6 Speed/Chipped


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is owned and operated by Superior Network Solutions, Inc., a California corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company and is not affiliated with the Keystone RV Company or its related companies in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.